Jun. 8th, 2005

salixbabylon: (Default)
I am so paranoid to say anything on LJ now, in case I make some grammar error. Maybe I shouldn't have posted, so I could continue to be imperfect and flawed and not be a hypocrite.

*le sigh*

Seriously though - I'm not perfect. I screw things up all the time. I use adverbs like they're going out of style. The incorrect use of apostrophes is just one of those visual things that massively throws me off when I'm reading an otherwise good story.

I am happy to beta (unless I'm tremendously busy) and I know lots of other people are, too. There is no reason not to use a beta or proof-reader -- no one is perfect. It is difficult to spot your own mistakes.

I DO think everyone posting their own grammar pet-peeves would be a great thing to do. I'd even be willing to link them all together on my website or LJ memories or something, for use as a resource.

It's also a learning opportunity -- I learned that some languages don't have apostrophes. And looking up the rules clarified things for me, even though I already knew what was correct.

*smooches*

Jun. 8th, 2005 09:13 am
salixbabylon: (Default)
HAPPY BIRTHDAY
[livejournal.com profile] melacita!!!

May your year be full of fantastic new adventures! (And I'm crossing my fingers that the trip to NZ yields positive proof for VigOrliness!) I'm so glad to know you. *hug* :)

September 2013

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:05 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios